Root Effect clarification

I heard there was a clarification made at Remembrance about the Root effect, namely that if a new part of your body touches the ground any time after the initial Root call (within the 5 minute duration), then that part gets stuck too. Could staff confirm whether this is correct?

And if that is the case, what is the intended interaction with Trip and Sleep calls? It sounds like applying a Trip or Sleep after a Root would stick the target more or less fully to the ground, but I’m not sure if that’s meant to be a viable strategy or would be considered cheese, or if it might not work for other reasons.



Whatever is on the ground at the time of the call, unless you’re in the air.


Tripping or Sleeping someone before you root them is a great combo.


If you unroot someone who was tripped or slept, does it still only maim one limb?